Video Post #1: Tichu!

Sorry things took as long as they did.  Real life calls.  😀  I will be uploading a session report for the entire week (played about 8 games or so) tonight or tomorrow, but I really wanted to finally get the video reviews started.  Without further ado, my first video review!

Let me know what you might want me to review next.  😀

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Timothy O'Shea
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 23:30:28

    Well…wow! Fantastic review. I followed you over to this website from BGG because I wanted to see a video review of Tichu, though when I saw it was 25 minutes long I almost clicked back to BGG.

    I didn’t, thank goodness. I told myself, “Give it a couple of minutes and if it looks promising, watch it.”

    You, sir, are a FANTASTIC game explainer! No “umms,” hesitations, or correcting yourself as you methodically (and in an very entertaining manner) walked us through the game. Fantastic.

    I have watched a few videos on the game of Tichu and always ended up confused. Now having a great sense of the game, I want to buy it.

    You asked for requests for future reviews, so I have two. Please consider Glen More and At the Gates of Loyang.

    I own both games but my mind isn’t wrapping itself around either. I keep hearing that Glen More is an easy game to learn, but after reading the directions twice and attempting to play a solo game, the moving around the track confused the heck out of me. I wasn’t sure if I was moving in the wrong sequence (I attempted to play a three player game), or moving too much or too little.

    At the Gates of Loyang looks fun but in attempting to play it solo, the fiddly nature of the pieces and actions made me lose my place in play a couple of times.

    God Bless you and thanks for this fun review.

    Reply

    • nkohatsu
      Sep 25, 2011 @ 07:08:44

      Thanks! I am trying my best to convey the rules concisely but light-heartedly (even with my kids chattering so much). It’ll get better, I just need to keep at it. Glen More is exactly how you described. Its easy to learn ‘except’ for the turn order/tile taking mechanic. I shall tackle it next! I will also try my best on the time issue, I knew it was long for such a little card game. Maybe I should rough up a script first instead of just shooting from the hip. 😀

      Nathan

      Reply

  2. Scott Levy
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 23:57:35

    Ryan an I played Tichu tonight and took the first game 1,2. Second Game 1,2 with a TICHU! Two games, 500 points=win! Mwahaha!

    Reply

  3. vtscomputers
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 18:55:14

    Sorry I soda-nuked the classy old deck. At least it went out with a bang…in the form of three bombs being played during it’s final hand of play.

    Reply

  4. Michelle Elizer
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 19:47:41

    Oh there is the three bomb hand! I BOMBED you!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  5. JC
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 03:19:26

    Great review my friend! Keep up the great work!

    Reply

  6. Lorrie Douthwright (LakeLover)
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 06:56:53

    Arghhhh! Don’t worry about the length of this review. I need all that explanation. I’d hate to think of what you would have edited out. Hmmmm, 3 messages of thank yous. Don’t worry, I’m not stalking you, I’m just an enthusiastic Board Game Geek

    Reply

Leave a comment